jump to navigation

An Unusual Review, Mann Chandre…. January 25, 2009

Posted by Aman.... in Random Stuff.
trackback

A R Rahman doesn’t need any introduction. He is one of those few musicians who like to break their own records and are ready to create something new. Though I don’t listen to his music much but I respect him as being among the most versatile music directors. One more reason for not listening his music much is that I listen most of the time, Punjabi music only and as Rahman doesn’t do much of it, so you do not find me playing him often.
As I just said, I listen in most of my time, punjabi music only so its rather impossible that if there is a  Punjabi song,I would miss it. If, by any reasons, I would miss it , I have got many resources who would tell me that there is a new song in the town which is creating waves. The same happened this time when S called me to tell that there is a new album of Rahman, Connections which is out now and I must check its 4th song. I was like, why so, its a Hindi album. But to my amazement, S told me that this song is sung by Sukhwinder Singh and its a Punjabi song. I immediately checked the album and started playing it. That was yesterday at about 10am and its been playing over my box since then without being stopped for a minute even. I haven’t listened to any other song of the album and chances are very dim that I would do it either. I am just hooked to this song, and the reason is part lyrics and part music. The song doesn’t have very rich lyrics though, just a few lines are there which are repeated all over in the entire song, still they are good enough to keep one sitting and listening to it non-stop. Music of the song is the biggest highlight in my opinion as through it only, the complete feel of the song, the sadness underneath it, has come out in full colors.  If music wouldn’t be there or it would be some other kind of music, this song would never had got that midas touch which its having now and it would had ended up in the bin, at least by me. Its far below on the meter of mine to be called a truly rich song in lyrics and I don’t call a song a song without good lyrics. But its music has given it a life. And may be, that’s the charisma of Rahman is! Whatever it may be, I did find the song worth sharing so I am posting it here. There is no official video( yet ) of it so don’t pay attention to the video and just listen to the song. Its in Punjabi and I shall translate the lyrics in a while. The song’s name is Mann Chandre, which means Crazy Heart. This song is depicting the emotions of a lover who is telling that he is not able to find any peace nor satisfaction after falling in love. If you have ever been in love and got hurt from it, you would like(atleast the music) this song. I have posted the link to the album in audio format some where above, you can listen the song from there too. Here is the song over YouTube in video format,
And here are the lyrics in Punjabi,
Mann chandre nu raas na aave, Na aave dharwaas!
Jigar da sauda kyon kar baitha, mukkadi jandi aas!
Je lutt janda te lutt janda dil, hauke kha k chhup janda!
Beparwah da ki kehna, Na aave dharwaas!
Jigar da sauda kyon kar baitha, mukkadi jandi aas!

 

Dard sataunda bedardan nu, bedardan da ki janda!
Dard sataunda bedardan nu, bedardan da ki janda!
Bedardan da ki janda!
Mann chandre (repeat)….
Mann chandre(repeat)….
Jigar da sauda kyon kar baitha, mukkadi jandi aas!
Je lutt janda te lutt janda dil, hauke kha k chhup janda!
Beparwah di ki kehna, Na aave dharwaas!
And here is the meaning of it in Punjabi,
Crazy heart neither gets satisfaction nor can afford!
Why it did the deal of heart, now even the hopes are dying!
Once heart is gone, its gone! It hides after crying!
What to say about heartless people, there is no relief!
Pain hurts and heartless have no regret about it!
Crazy heart neither gets satisfaction nor can afford!
Why it did the deal of heart, now even the hopes are dying!
Once heart is gone, its gone! It hides after crying!
What to say about heartless people, there is no relief!
Here are few lines , depicting the pain of someone who has been hurt by his love, someone who got tears as a punishment of loving someone truly and madly. Have a read,
Ki haal sunavan tainu dil da,
Dil te jakhm bathere ne!
Akhiyan vichon mukk gaian needran,
Hun hanjuan de nal savere ne!
Rooh de saathi de gaye dhokhe,
Saade hijran nal ho gaye fere ne!
Dil ikko gal puchhda ro ro,
Rabba bas dass de ki gunaah mere ne!
Ki dassan dard kahani baare,
Hanju ajj v vehnde rehnde ne!
Asin yaad rakheya te ohna bhula ditta,
Kehnde yaaran da ki e,
Yaar te yaara aande jaande rehnde ne!
And here is the meaning of these lines in Punjabi,
What should I tell you about pains of this heart,
There are countless wounds over it!
Sleep has fled from these eyes,
Now mornings are welcomed by tears inside them!
My loved ones only deceieved me,
Now I am engaged to just tears!
This heart cries and asks just one thing ,
Just tell me what was my fault God?
How should narrate my story of sadness,
Tears drop every now and then!
I still remember those who forgot me in a minute,
And said,
What about lovers, they would keep coming and going!
Though the song doesn’t have much rich lyrics, still, there is one thing which is true like death, some people surely enough , don’t understand the meaning of relations, people involved in them. It needs a big heart to take pains of others and it needs much more than words to take it from those whom we call as our loved ones. But some don’t understand and simply don’t bother. Love is not some thing which can be done as per the conveneince of ours. Some value their dreams, career, themselves much more than anything and anyone else, even more than their loved ones. Its good to choose career, dreams. But not sure, how far its good to choose them on the expense of your loved ones. Can it be justified to buy your happiness by giving tears
to those only who love you more than their life, more than themselves? People tend to act as like practical individuals and there is nothing wrong in being one too. One gets a single life to achieve her dreams/wishes and there is nothing wrong to go after them. But, are dreams more important than someone’s love, is career more meaningful than a human who loves you? The answer of this is something which would always remain a mystry, atleast for me! if you know the answer of this, do let me know too besides telling about the views about the song!

 

 

Comments»

1. Nur - January 29, 2009

First of all im writing comment after a year.Thanks for the song.I didnt think i would like it that much.Even you translate the lyrics i will not be able to remember all of them.But the music jus sweep my soul away in the memories.You had written that if carrier is more meaningfull than a human who loves you.I think to instict of standing alive and successfull is stronger in some people.That is what i call selfishness.Or they dont feel the real love so their benefits jumps before it.So then we, who loves them, jus become stronger and broken to hopes.Who win? I have no idea abt that! But all i can say is i do pitty them.They dont know what they missed when they think they gain.
By the way im the one who wrote comment when you translated the song Soniye Hiriye.Keep up your blog! I enjoy to read it!
Nuray/Turkey

rizwan - August 9, 2009

its a very good song a true translation of my heart

Aman Sharma - August 12, 2009

Thanks for the kind words Rizwan. I am glad to hear that you liked the song!

Cheers
Aman….

2. Aman Sharma - January 29, 2009

Vala,
I hope I got the name correctly. You wrote Vala/Turkey last time and you were on the other blog of mine! Right! But anyways, welcome back and thanks for the comment once again! I do remember you and trust me, I didn’t have to look at the blog post to look for your name :-). I don’t forget people!

.You had written that if carrier is more meaningfull than a human who loves you.I think to instict of standing alive and successfull is stronger in some people.That is what i call selfishness.Or they dont feel the real love so their benefits jumps before it.So then we, who loves them, jus become stronger and broken to hopes.Who win? I have no idea abt that! But all i can say is i do pitty them.They dont know what they missed when they think they gain.

Vala,this instinct of being alive and being successful is among all of us, no one can truly say that he/she doesn’t want a good career and a good lifestyle. But, everything has its place and , a price! What we need to fix is that how much we are ready to pay to get all this! I am not sure that I would ever be able to do this that I would leave my loved ones for a better career/life/whatever! And I have done that too! I tore apart an appointment letter just because I promised someone that on those dates, I shall be there with her. That’s another story altogether that she only didn’t bother about it but yes, its much more important to care about your relations and the people in them! If we have , in the end, just the money and no one with us to enjoy its benefits, I guess , we have lost much more than we have gained actually!

Thanks for the kind words once again, you are always welcome here!
Cheers
Aman….

3. kiranjith - January 29, 2009

this song made me to intrude into ur comments space… it moves me everytime i hear it..feels like a million needles on your heart…such a nice score by ar rahman he should win a million oscars…no man can make such music if he cannot….really nice to hear it again n again..

really appreciate ur efforts on lyrics! thanks friend

4. Nuray - January 30, 2009

Well vala or valaderes happened to be my nick.I wrote my name this time and you obviously have very strong memory.It is very nice to read a blog of someone who cares people.
There is a lot to say about care, love and pain (which is quite related to each other).You mostly express them well.And that girl is never could find someone who tear apart an appointment for her i think.If she does life wouldnt be fair..
Thanks for respond! Keep writing!

5. Aman Sharma - January 30, 2009

Nur,
Thanks alot for the kind words. I got it this time correctly. I shall be calling you Nur from now over here!
There is a lot to say about care, love and pain (which is quite related to each other).
Well said! Yes they are so much related and sadly, pain becomes the prominent in all 3 in most of the cases. I just try to give these emotions a face through words. Some use paint, some use tunes, for me , its words!

And that girl is never could find someone who tear apart an appointment for her i think.If she does life wouldnt be fair..

Well, I wrote a post long time back, please read it, here it is,

A Short Story….


The last lines of this story is the answer of your line. About life wouldn’t be fair, not sure about that. So far, I wished once from it to be one and it didn’t happen. Now, I am not very hopeful from it! Let’s see what it brings up!
Thanks for coming and reading my random ramblings! Do keep coming back, you are always welcome !
Aman….

6. Aman Sharma - January 30, 2009

Kiranjith,
Thanks a lot for stopping by here and I am glad to hear that my effort did help you in liking the song! Yes, its a nice song and Rahman’s music is the life saver of it!
Thanks alot for the kind words once again!
Cheers
Aman….

7. aparajita - February 3, 2009

hi aman!
m not a regular blog writer or reader. but then, i came over this song n fell in luv with it, n got anxious to knw it meaning! this song touched me to the core of my heart. n i came over ur blog while searching lyrics. thanx a lot for the lyrics n its meaning, n for settling down my anxious heart!
i liked wht al u wrote…thoughtful n sensitive! keep up!
take care n enjoy n thanx again.

8. Aman Sharma - February 4, 2009

Aprajita,
Thanks a bunch for the kind words. I am glad to hear that my random rambling did help you to understand and enjoy the song in a better way. Yes, this song has come up and nice and as I mentioned in the blog, if one understands relations, value them, he/she would be able to understand the song in a much better way.

i liked wht al u wrote…thoughtful n sensitive! keep up!
Thanks, I just write what I feel about things/emotions/people.

Do keep coming back, your comments and you are always most welcome!

Cheers
Aman….

9. Vasu - February 6, 2009

thanks for sharing this song and the amazing shayari. sometimes i cant understand how I can express my feelings in words yet someone can just say it exactly as you feel. that’s the magic of music and poerty… thanks again for sharing this song is amazing

10. Aman Sharma - February 7, 2009

Vasu,
Thanks for the kind words. Feelings can be expressed by any ways, words is just one way to do so.
Cheers
Aman….

11. aparajita - February 8, 2009

my pleasure Aman!
for sure, i wil keep coming bak to ur blog. loved it in a sense or so.
take care n enjoy!!! cheers!!! 🙂

12. Aman Sharma - February 8, 2009

Aprajita,
Thanks for the kind words. You are always most welcome here. Just so you know, I did visit the “reflections of my thoughts” and its awesome. I shall say, do write, you got atleast one reader for sure ;-).
I am traveling now, in Hyd, so in way enjoy and in a way, its not ;-).
Take care and god bless!

Cheers
Aman….

13. lux - February 12, 2009

this song is set in the raag – sindhu bhairavi.
please listen to song ” evano oruvan” from the movie alai payuthey in tamil by ARR.( this is saathiya in hindi). i know you mite not listen as this is a non punjabi song. The tone of this song and the modd and the meaning is quite similar to that song.

14. lux - February 12, 2009

sorry — this song is not in sindhu bhairavi..

15. ALEYA - May 31, 2009

awesome song;with awesome lyrics;
touched heart with new feelings;
simply unable to sleep without listening berfore song

16. Aman Sharma - June 4, 2009

Aleya,

Thanks for the comment!

Cheers
Aman….

17. Venu - June 26, 2009

Thanks for the super insight, lyrics & translation. You’re absolutely rite, Aman. A friend passed me the song a month ago, I rarely listen to anything else nowadays…Can we hv another ARR, SS collaboration out soon as I’m running out of songs 🙂 Thanks

18. Aman Sharma - June 26, 2009

Venu,

Thanks for the kind words! Hope we see ARR and Sukhi’s fusion more in the future.

Cheers
Aman….

19. Laila Khan - June 27, 2009

> Dard sataunda bedardan nu, bedardan da ki janda!

Didn’t get this line. How can ” dard sataunda bedardan nu”? How can Dard have any affect on a “Bedard” (one without pain)

Shoudn’t it be like this:
Dard sataunda DARDMANDA nu, bedardan da ki janda!

Btw, thanks for a great review of the song. 🙂

20. Aman Sharma - June 27, 2009

Laila,

Thanks for the kind words for the review. It exactly wasn’t a review but my thoughts about the emotions depicted through the song. But still, thanks a bunch for the kind words!

Didn’t get this line. How can ” dard sataunda bedardan nu”? How can Dard have any affect on a “Bedard” (one without pain)

Shoudn’t it be like this:
Dard sataunda DARDMANDA nu, bedardan da ki janda

I do understand Punjabi very well Laila so translation wasn’t needed 😉 . Just kidding! Yes , I do agree and felt the same. Even I discussed the same with couple of my friends who themselves are poets. They too were not able to explain the meaning of these lines. As I mentioned, the lyrics are not that great. Its the tune of the song which makes them come alive.

That said, here is what I had understood about these lines. Feel free to discuss that whether you find it correct or not? These lines depict that even when the pain actually goes to those who are heartless, it actually bears no effect over them. That’s why it is said, dard sataunda bedardan nu, bedardan da ki janda! Which comes down to the same meaning that it doesn’t make any difference to those who have no heart that someone is sad or not or what is pain of anyone? Do let me know what you feel about this understanding of mine?

Do keep coming back over here if you did like my random ramblings. Your comments and you are always most welcome here!

Cheers
Aman….

21. kay - July 5, 2009

aman,
thanks darling for the english tranlation..i really appreciate..i’m originally from afghanistan and i dont speak punjabi but i understand “urdo” or “urdo” cuz i lived in pakistan for 7 yrs…
but i cud pick punjani words …so i was really excited when found the eng tranlation for the song above…the song is awesome ….and the music is just greattttt…..i just saw the song in my facebook today posted by a friend so i can’t stop listening to the song …i keept playing it over and over ..i’ve been a A R rahman fan since i was a kid may be 9 yrs old or so …so i have been listening to him for 14 yrs …
thanks paaji keep up the hard work …

peace

22. Aman Sharma - July 6, 2009

Kay,

Thanks a lot for coming and stopping by here. I am glad to hear that my attempt was acutally beneficial for you to understand this awesome song in a more better way. Thanks a lot for the kind words!

thanks paaji keep up the hard work …

LOL that’s great to hear! I shall try my best “veere” 🙂 .

Cheers
Aman….

23. gs - July 19, 2009

thanx alot 4 d trnslation and d next song follwn it..feels gud 2 know thr r othrs out der who hav lovd as much as i did..

24. Aman Sharma - July 19, 2009

@GS,

Thanks for the kind words. Not sure that how much I loved but I am sure, you must have done it with your full heart and this world is running because of souls like you being here!

Cheers
Aman….

25. mohammad amir - July 28, 2009

hi aman could u please explain the meanings of dhrwaas

Aman Sharma - July 28, 2009

@Mohammad Amir,

Dharwaas means, satisfaction or you can say, peace of mind which suits more better in the context of this song.

Cheers
Aman….

26. Shakeel - August 8, 2009

In my mobile,my laptop,my car! This song is being played everywhere!! Non stop since a week..
Recommended to me by my friend Adil..really this song has taken its toll over me!

Aman Sharma - August 12, 2009

🙂 That’s what music is , it just creates magic!

Cheers
Aman….

27. rizwan - August 9, 2009

yes really <this is a very touching song very well sung ……………a true translation of my heart

Shahid - August 13, 2009

@ Rizwan

I can imagine. Waise Aslam was asking for you. Call him.

28. Shahid - August 12, 2009

Hi Aman,

Thanks for the translation of lyrics. A week ago I bought a new Nokia cell phone which had all the tracks from ‘Connections’. As I was going through them, I came across this song and can’t help not listening to it anymore. I wanted to know the meaning of the lyrics and I agree that the lyrics aren’t that great, BUT the song somehow keeps me lost & mesmerized in it. Amazing Music by A R Rahman and definitely been sung very well indeed.

Aman Sharma - August 12, 2009

Shahid,

Thanks for stopping by here and for the kind words. Yes the song is truly amazing and Rahman has just created a masterpiece via it.

Cheers
Aman….

29. Rohit Singh - August 29, 2009

Aman,
The song, is what I call, a Masterpiece. Sorry to be so late, but i have been listening to this since its release. It still plays, even though I am not playing it. And as you said, those heartbroken will understand it, and I do. The very essence of the music creates such a feeling, that even if you don’t understand a word of punjabi(I do. Jatt here :P), you will surely understand the song. This is what a masterpiece is capable of. And I suppose, only a few like A R Rehman can create such music. Really, I can’t express what the song to me is like.
Thanks for the post, so that more and more people can listen to it.

30. Aman Sharma - August 30, 2009

@Rohit,

Thanks a bunch for stopping by here and for the kind words. Yes, I completely agree with all what you said. I am a completely in-and-out proud Punjabi guy(born, brought up and love to be just in Punjab only 🙂 ) so the lyrics make complete sense for me. My en devour to post the translation of this and all of the Punjabi poetry and song published here on my blog is just to make them understandable for the non-punjabi people as well so that they can enjoy and cherish our so rich culture. Sing has come up really nice and yes, being a maestro himself , Rahman gave this song a life on its own.

Thanks once again for the kind words and do keep coming back 🙂 .

Cheers
Aman….

31. karthik - September 4, 2009

whoz the singer

32. Chinchu. C - September 27, 2009

Just wanted to thank you Aman for the meaning and lyrics. I am from Kerala and listen to Rahman a lot, and I must say this is one of his best creations. While I am writing this, I am listening in the radio a song composed by his father, R K Sekhar, another unsung genius. Hats off to Rahman and thanks Aman once again for the post.

33. Aman Sharma - September 27, 2009

Hi Chinchu C,

Thanks a bunch for the kind words, I am glad that I could be of some help in understanding the song in a better way 🙂 .

Thanks for stopping by here and for the kind words once again!

Cheers
Aman….

34. natwar tiwari - October 12, 2009

Hi,

The music has such sadness in it…i cant explain….i was searching on the orkut for someone i loved and lost….she had this song in her album…and i played it…..and since then…i can’t stop thinkin about her and this listening to this number….i myself am a poet…i write sad poems….and it really gave me new inspiration, words for my feelings….its really awesome…one of the greatest of Rehman…i am a big fan of his Music.
Long live Rehman!!

35. leo - December 1, 2009

i liked the the song it touched me ..can ant 1 tell whus the female singer in this track

36. leo - December 1, 2009

i liked the the song it touched me ..can any 1 tell whus the female singer in this track

Aman Sharma - December 2, 2009

@Leo,

The female singer is Shraddha Pandit.

Aman….

37. Sohini - December 12, 2009

I never knew about this song when one of my friends made me listen to it in her ipod. I wasn’t understanding all of the Punjabi words and then I came across this blog. Thanks to A R Rahman for doing the wonders again, thanks to Sukhwinder Singh and Shraddha Pandit for wonderfully depicting the feeling, thanks to you for translating the words so that I could get the meaning of the song and last but not the least, thanks to my friend for introducing me to the song.
Like everyone here, it touched my heart too!

Aman Sharma - December 12, 2009

Sohini,

Thanks to you as well for stopping by here and for such kind words 🙂 .

Cheers
Aman….

38. shakila - December 12, 2009

last night, while talking to my friend he asked me to listen to this song. I downloaded but needed the lyrics and I came across your site, where you have not only provided with the lyrics, but also the translation! Thank you very much!! I recommended the songs to me colleagues, and at this moment all of us are listening to it. Love rahman , and of course the combo of rahman, & sukhwinder, is wonderful.

Aman Sharma - December 12, 2009

Shakila,

Thanks for the kind words. I am glad that I could be of some help in enjoying this song.

Cheers
Aman….

39. prajyot,swapnil - February 4, 2010

goood song man well done rahman

40. kamya - February 22, 2010

i want to download this song this my favouret song but i dont know the album name3 plz help me n tell me hw cn i download this song?

Aman Sharma - March 2, 2010

Kamya,

I can’t help in downloading of the song. You need to search the ways to do it yourself. About the album’s name, its Connections .

HTH
Aman….

41. NIRMALA - March 2, 2010

Thanks for the fabulous song given

Aman Sharma - March 2, 2010

Thanks Nirmala for the kind words!

Cheers
Aman….

42. Ramakrishnan.V.P - March 13, 2010

Thanx a lot Aman.The meaning of the poetic verses is really touching into heart .Amazing music by maestro ARR…..

Aman Sharma - May 18, 2011

Thanks Ramakrishnan 🙂 .

Aman….

43. prashant - October 7, 2010

heart touching song n music is great….it bring tears to my eyes!!!

44. prashant - October 7, 2010

very nice song

45. nick - May 18, 2011

A R Rahman doesn’t need any introduction. He is one of those few musicians03332467669.03422208412

46. cybershot - May 26, 2011

simply awesome … no words

47. Milind - August 26, 2011

Hi Aman,

Can I expect one favour from you?

I am looking for an old Punjabi song.

Can you help me?

Milind

Aman.... - August 26, 2011

Milind,

Post the song’ name and I shall see what I can do.

Aman….

Waqas Bhatti - October 8, 2011

Dear Aman Sharma…I’m Pakistani Punjabi…i just fell in love with this song….lyrics in punjabi, music and soul is just awesome…

48. aman sharma - March 24, 2012

beautiful song ..from a.r.rahman song mann chandre!+and i like i

49. aman sharma - March 24, 2012

i like this song mann chandre

50. Ishani Mehta - March 14, 2017

Thanks for the lyrics and translation
Beautiful song!


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.